The Nerd King

Home » Crown Jewels » Crown Jewels: Things I Learned from the Avengers: Age of Ultron Trailer

Crown Jewels: Things I Learned from the Avengers: Age of Ultron Trailer

Follow The Nerd King on WordPress.com

Royal Archives

49Kb38i

Once upon a time, I wrote Facebook notes called “Things I Learned from (Fill in the Blank) Trailer.”  These, in a way, were the beginnings of this very site.  One of those trailers was for Marvel’s Avengers.  Now, HYDRA has leaked the teaser for the sequel nearly a week early, so it only seems fitting to pay homage to my roots and to such an awesome trailer by bringing the old format back.  So here are the things I learned from Marvel’s Avengers: Age of Ultron teaser trailer.

 

10. The film is going to be darker

Ultron 1

You don’t have to watch much of this trailer to tell that it’s a lot less colorful than the last film.  Everything’s sepia and grey tones, and the colors are muted.  It hasn’t been suffered the same amount of Batmanning (the act of draining a film of all color) as the DC Universe, but it’s not nearly as bright as it was when we were fighting Loki.  The fact that Ultron thinks people screaming for mercy is beautiful doesn’t lighten the mood any.

 

9. The world is getting involved

Ultron 2

In the last film, we had the Avengers fighting Loki and the Chitauri in New York, and that was it.  Here, we see glimpses of the police and the military taking on the bad guys, just like they would in the real world.  Plus we see locations from Korea to the Middle East to the Mediterranean to some snowy location who knows where.  The Marvel Universe has definitely expanded big time.

 

8. Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch are medical experiments

Ultron 3

At least, that’s my guess.  We see a gurney wheel in a hospital-like corridor, some surgical instruments, and then the twins walk up behind Ultron.  Since 20th Century Fox owns the rights to mutants, my guess is that they get their powers through HYDRA’s secret genetic experiments.  And considering how calm they and Ultron are around each other, does that mean they’re working together at some point during this movie?  That’s a scary thought.

 

7. Nick Fury has a new eye patch

Ultron 4

In fact, he’s got a whole new look, with a stocking cap, blazer, and white shirt.  It’s not quite as awesome as the leather outfit he’s famous for wearing, but it’s not bad either.  In a way, it reminds me a bit of his Pulp Fiction roots; I could see this Nick Fury being even more morally grey than in the past.

 

6. The Hulkbuster armor is bigger than I thought

Ultron 5

Like, really big.  Ginormous, really.  Like I completely underestimated how big the suit would have to be to take on the Hulk.  Look at it!  It’s a suit of armor inside a suit of armor!  That’s how big it is and how much protection Iron Man needs to survive an encounter with Bruce Banner at his angriest.

 

5. We’ve got flashbacks

Ultron 6.5

I only see really quick glances, but judging by the hairstyles in one quick scene with Captain America, we’re headed back to World War II for a bit (plus IMDb confirms Peggy Carter’s presence in this movie, so I’m guessing that’s where she turns up).  Later, there’s a glimpse of ballet dancers, which makes me wonder if we’re finally going to get some backstory for Black Widow.  I don’t know, ballet dancers and Russia just seem to go together in my mind.

 

4. Andy Serkis is in this movie, but he’s not doing motion capture

Ultron 7

Weird, right?  What’s more, they don’t even tell us who he’s playing.  I don’t recognize the character design as any particular Marvel character.  Even IMDB is being hush-hush about it, and they’re the ones who spoiled the fact that Benedict Cumberbatch was playing Khan!  Seriously, guys, unless he’s secretly Dr. Strange, I’ve got no clue who the guy is.  This is going to drive me crazy.

 

3. Thor will take any excuse to be shirtless and to rage

Ultron 8

Not that anyone’s complaining, but this makes three out of four Thor movies in which he’s showing off his torso.  Is it in his contract or something?  On the other hand, we haven’t seen him this face-contortingly mad since he couldn’t pick up his hammer back in his first movie.  Add to that the fact that he’s picking up Tony Stark by the neck and you can see how ticked off the God of Thunder is in this film, and with good reason.

 

2. Black Widow and Hulk share a moment

Ultron 9

That sweet little palm to palm gesture screams “relationship” to me.  Not that I’m surprised; I’ve heard rumors that a Hulk/Widow couple could be happening in this film.  It builds on their connection in the last film, which was subtle but definitely there, and they have the shared experience of him trying to kill her while he was Hulking out.  I’m still shipping Black Widow and Winter Soldier, though.  Maybe in Cap 3.

 

1. Ultron watches Disney movies in his spare time

Ultron 10

Every awesome villain has a creepy quirk, and for Ultron, it’s quoting Pinocchio.  That’s got to be one of the creepiest things I’ve ever seen in a trailer, and my guess is it left a lot of childhoods scarred.  All I can say is thank you, Disney, for buying Marvel so we can have this awesome, amazing moment in the trailer without having to worry about the copyright.

 

So what did you think of the trailer?  Are you as excited for it as I am, and if so, what has you the most excited?  What did you learn new from the trailer?  Let me know in the comments below, and I’ll look them over as soon as I track down a TARDIS or a time warp of some kind so I can see this movie now!

 

Avengers: Age of Ultron is owned by Marvel Studios, a branch of Walt Disney Pictures.

Leave a Reply

Visits

  • 17,428 Wonderful People

Loyal Subjects

